计划在海外生活和学习

在您前往第一堂课或设置自己的学生电子邮件之前,您有许多事情需要做 - 在您动身前往学校和已经到达学校后 - 以令您自己为在留学国家的生活做好准备。以下是我们为令您的海外学习更轻松而做出的规划方法。

 

需要考虑的事项

您可以负担什么?您喜欢如何度过自己的课余时间?您是喜欢温暖的天气,还是热衷于变化的季节?

一个多样化的世界尽在您的指尖,如果您仍在考虑去往哪里学习,您可以将以下众多事项纳入考量范围:

生活在亲属附近……或否

如果您生活独立、喜欢尝试新鲜事物并且无论去往何处都愿意结交朋友,那么独自生活将会非常适合您。换句话说,如果您需要熟悉的面孔和家庭纽带来使自己保持平衡,则考虑生活在您的家族成员或密友所在的国家或城市。额外的支持和指导也许正是您接受新环境并在学校中表现良好所需的关键因素。

文化

您在新环境中感觉舒适非常重要,因此在选择留学国家时请确保考虑到该国家的文化。花时间慢慢来、做好自己的调查工作,同时我们也会尽自己的职责指导您行进在正确的方向上。以下有助于您决策之部分资源的链接:

College Board
http://study.taaza.com

现今,学生们要比以往任何时候都愿意离开家乡前往最受欢迎的留学地点学习:澳大利亚、加拿大、英国和美国。如果您打算前往上述任何国家学习,请查看下列网站,以更多地了解每个国家的文化和生活方式:

澳大利亚
澳大利亚的生活
澳大利亚文化

加拿大
加拿大文化
加拿大生活方式

英国
英国文化
英国的生活

美国
美国文化e
美国价值观

天气

天气对您在留学国家的居住印象方面发挥着很大作用,因此请做好必要准备工作。选择一个地点,以查看当地天气如何。

澳大利亚天气
加拿大天气
英国天气
美国天气

生活成本

澳大利亚、加拿大、英国和美国的生活费用差别很大。一个国家内的不同城市或区域之间甚至都有很大的差别。这就是您调查正在计划前往的地区并了解食品、租金、学习材料和衣物等日常物品费用如此重要的原因。然后建立一个月度预算,以避免超支。了解与下列国家的生活成本相关的更多内容:

澳大利亚的生活成本
加拿大的生活成本
英国的生活成本
美国的生活成本

选择学院或大学

选择进入哪个学院或大学学习令人非常兴奋,并且对于某些人来说,有些无法抗拒。毕竟,您前往何处接受教育将会影响您的未来职业、您将建立的联系以及您在今后若干年内将哪个国家和城市称之为“家”。您将从家人和朋友那里获得很多建议。听取全部建议。仅需记住,最后您要对自己的选择满意。以下是如何评估哪所学校最适合您的建议:

  • 确保您考虑的机构有权授予您想要的学位课程。
  • 查看您可以在自己的专业科系方面发现哪些内容。
  • 了解您所选择的职业是否要求学士学位或者您是否需要研究生学位。如果是,考虑您是否想要在同一所院校、城市或国家完成研究生学习。
  • 您是能够在城市环境、小城镇中成长,还是享受乡村的慢节奏生活?您是否愿意前往可以获得更多个性化关注的小型学院?或者您更愿意在开设讲课形式之课堂的大型综合性大学学习?
  • 您加入的院校类型可能会影响到学费、将来就读研究生院以及就业。您感兴趣的国家将很有可能同时拥有私立和公立院校。您还将了解到,部分国家还拥有专注于某一研究领域,如研究、教学或科学的大学。查看所有类型的大学,以了解哪所大学能够以您可接受的费用提供您想要的教育。
  • 查看您正在考虑进入的院校之学生数目。
  • 查看学院或大学的学生资料,以了解其是否满足您在男女学生比例、文化多样性、被录取学生的学业成绩水平以及可能影响您的选择之其他社会和学术因素方面的需求。查看本信息是否可出现在学校网站上。以下是其他有用的网站:

    College Board
    美国新闻与世界报道America’s Best Colleges
    英国大学完全指南
    澳大利亚教育网

如果您计划获得研究生学位,以下是您应该考虑的部分内容:

  • 学校和学位课程的声誉。
  • 教职人员。他们很有可能成为您的导师。
  • 您的 GPA、GRE® 分数或其他考试分数。

以下网站有助于您在想要留学的国家内搜索学校:

美国新闻和世界报道
全球大学排名和指南
澳大利亚学校搜索
加拿大学校搜索
加拿大的本科课程
英国学校搜索
大学探测器 - 英国
在美国学习
彼得森学校探测器¬ - 美国
美国学校搜索

住宿

居住在校内为您提供一个更易交朋友、准时上课并且从与同龄人相似的视角体验学校的机会。在所有事情中保持公正,您会更有可能参与到学校活动。如果您确定校园生活适合您,大多数学校都提供不同类型的住宿 - 包括男女同住和男女分开的宿舍楼,以便您可以找到适合自己的住宿方式。

居住在校外可给您更多的独立性和灵活性。您将有机会体验到留学国家、学校之外的真正生活。此外,您通常可以找到比校内住宿更宽敞的房间。请记得在做最后决定前权衡所有因素。了解更多关于学生住宿选择的内容:

澳大利亚膳宿
英国的学生膳宿
彼得森学校探测器¬ - 美国
美国学习

当您在国际化阶段继续自己的学业时,您有许多可以期待的内容。在您搜索学院和大学时谨记这一点建议 - 搜索适合自己个人要求的目的地。如有可能,请参考该学校,以确保您在校园内和周围地区感到舒服。

出发前需要做的 10 件事

 

  • 决定您将以何种方式支付学费:教育费用可能会非常昂贵,但它不应该造成您的财务困境。许多贷款、奖学金、助学金和研究金都可帮助您实现海外留学。出发前从您的财务支援处获得确认,以确保资金能够在您需要时到位。
  • 获取您的护照和签证:确保您尽早获得所有法律文件。您的护照就是您在留学国家的身份证。而您的学生签证是您留学海外的门票。携带护照的两份影印本和其他重要文件。将他们保存在不同的地方,以免其中一份失窃。
  • 照顾好自己的身体:出发前进行全面的体检、接种疫苗并且备好您的处方药。它将令您获得心灵的平静,同时您可能需要出示体检合格证才能获得学生签证。此外,大多数国家都需要您拥有留学生健康保险。以下是提供学生保险的两个网站。我们不宣传这些产品;然而,我们希望您意识到这些和其他类似产品.
  • 留学生保险
  • 留学生
  • 获得国际学生证 (ISIC): 国际学生证可在全球范围内提供机票、火车票、汽车票、船票、购物、银行、娱乐、食物和更多方面的学生折扣。
  • 随时关注最新活动:经常查看您所在学校的网站。如有可能,请于网站上注册,以获得学生更新资讯。每天看新闻并阅读您所在的国家和城市正在发生哪些事情。这有助于您保持与时俱进并将提升您的英语技能。
  • 在紧急情况下留信息:在紧急情况下让您的家人和朋友知道您在哪儿以及如何联络您和您的学校
  • 确认您的居住安排:在您离开家之前确保您的房间和膳食已得到确认。无论您已计划居住在校内还是校外,请要求对方以书面形式向您发送确认。
  • 通知您的银行:无论您是打算使用现有的银行还是在留学国家内找一家当地银行,请联络您的银行并告知其您将去往何处以及您打算出国多长时间。如果您准备使用当前的银行,请查明如果在海外访问您的账户是否会产生任何海外费用。
  • 查看您的入学要求:了解入学需要哪些考试和其他要求。如果您已经修读大学课程或如果您是一名毕业生,查看您的学分是否会被新学院或大学接受。

在您的新环境中安顿下来

仅仅是留学海外这个想法就会令人的脑海浮现出在纽约市招呼出租车、在伦敦和朋友泡吧或者是在悉尼于正午前冲浪的场景。如这些场景般令人激动的是,这些只是您在新环境中体验到的一小部分。

在您学会说“au revoir”、“adios”、“alavidh”或“farewell”之前,以下是一些您可能想要了解的目的地国家之有趣事情:

学术生活

在留学国家学习可能与您之前的体验有很大差别。每种文化都有其自己的教学方式。为确保您能做到最好,请访问下列网站,以获得如何在留学国家获得成功的贴士。

澳大利亚学术生活
学生生活 - 加拿大
英国学术生活
美国学术活动

社交生活

您的社交生活对于留学体验来说与您的学习同样重要。结交朋友的一个好方法就是在您的宿舍或宿舍楼内将自己介绍给同学。同时外出并探索这座城市展现给您的所有魅力。开始学习您可以在留学国家做的事情,您将要前往下列网站:

社交生活 - 澳大利亚
加拿大生活方式
英国生活
社交生活 - 美国

思乡

无论您多么独立且多么善于社交,您都会在某个时刻想家。以下若干贴士有助于确保您不会沉湎于这种感觉太久:

  • 加入社团、运动队或文化小组
  • 与朋友在一起消磨时光。告诉他们您的感受。如果受邀,和朋友及其家人一起度假或过周末
  • 参与其中。参加游戏选拔、成为志愿者、为学校的电子快讯写文章
  • 每天学习一些有关文化和所在国家的新鲜事
  • 始终说英语。这将有助于您接受新文化
  • 参加聚会、游戏、体育活动、音乐会、电影或户外活动
  • 如果您的孤独感没有在一天或两天内消失,请与您的宿舍助理、学校顾问或留学生顾问沟通

此处了解更多内容:减少身在海外的思乡感

开设银行账户

您抵达留学目的地后应该做的第一件事就是开设一个银行账户。您的宿舍助理或学生顾问可以帮助您寻找一家距离校园不远的银行。在决定选择哪家银行时,考虑您需要哪些服务。部分银行可能会对其他银行免费提供的服务收费费用。四处购物。如果您打算将款项从家乡的银行电汇至留学地的新银行,请选择一家收取少量转账费用或不收取此项费用的银行。

无论您选择哪家银行,尝试限制您携带的现金数额。使用允许您在需要时提取现金的银行卡会更安全。了解更多您打算留学之地点的银行和其他财务事项。

澳大利亚的学生银行业务
加拿大的学生银行业务
英国的学生银行业务
美国的学生银行业务

医疗保健

在新环境中安顿后,四处询问或在线寻找一位您所在区域的、可接受您的保险之医生和牙医。如果您等到生病才开始搜索,您可能无法获得就医预约或很难找到医生。

大多数学院和大学都设有自己的医疗保健机构。与您的院校核实其是否提供基本医疗服务或更广泛的照护。

每个国家的医疗保健系统都有自己的规则和法规。如要了解您所留学之国家的更多医疗保健内容,请查看下方链接:

澳大利亚的学生健康
加拿大的学生健康
英国的学生健康
美国的学生健康

 

研究生院和商学院

研究生水平的学习与您在本科阶段的体验完全不同。您将与导师或教授密切合作,导师和教授更多的是发挥指导者的作用。其课程作业难度也更大。学生之间的竞争也更激烈。

选择研究生院或商学院时需要考虑的事项

  • 适用于许多课程并确保您符合等级和考试成绩要求。入学竞争非常激烈。
  • 研究院校并确保其在您的研究领域拥有声誉良好的课程。
  • 了解教职员工的质量和声誉。
  • 问询了解学生和教职工之间的互动有多少。在大多数研究生院和商学院中,您都将与教职工密切合作。

以下是若干准备贴士

  • 参观您感兴趣的各个校园。此举可令您真实地评估文化并判定自己是否真正适合。
  • 找出入学要求。其中一个要求将是参加 TOEFL 考试等英语水平考试,以证明您的英语阅读、协作、口语和理解能力达到大学水平。
  • 如果您申请的院校要求您参加研究生入学考试,如新 GRE® 普通考试,请联络他们以了解其入学截至日期。
  • 如果您需要财务援助,那么许多助学金、贷款和奖学金都可为您提供帮助。实施调查并尽早申请。

继续存在的研究生院或商学院

研究生被期待拥有更好的研究技能和更多深入的应用知识。起初,您会觉得课程作业令您喘不过气。一旦您开始学会平衡学业与其他责任,您就会感觉轻松很多。不要尝试同时做所有事情。根据需要优化您的工作量并完成任务,从而充分利用您的时间和精力。

如需有关准备、寻求居住安排、如何在研究生院或商学院获得成功的更多信息和其他有用建议,请访问GradSchools.com

以下是其他有用的链接

国际研究生
澳大利亚 - 学业完成后
英国 - 研究生
留学生 - 美国研究生
海外学习 - 研究生

在线资源

下列网站提供有关海外生活和学习的有价值贴士、建议和资源。尝试查看全部内容,即使它们并不适用于您计划学习的国家。您会惊讶于一个网站内的建议如何适用于所有学生,无论这些学生打算进入哪里的学校。

这些链接在 ETS 网站的使用条款中作为资源提供。

美国新闻与世界报道: 获取全球内最佳学院、大学和研究生院的最新资讯。此外,查看有特色的学院、支付学费的方法、学费预算器和其他有用工具。

在加拿大学习:弄清楚加拿大的生活是什么样子、如何获得学生签证、了解众多学院、大学和研究生课程,以及更多内容。

英国教育 (Education UK)致力于为前往大不列颠和北爱尔兰留学的学生制定学习计划。了解更多有关奖学金、住宿、医疗等信息。

Study Abroad.com: 了解有关英国、美国、加拿大、新加坡、德国及更多国家之国际留学课程和留学奖学金的信息。

留学生: 了解文化、膳宿、交通、安全、金钱和其他话题,这些有助于您适应在英国、美国和澳大利亚的生活。

在美国学习: 获得专为考虑留学美国之非美国学生量身打造的完善信息。

英国国际事务委员会: 寻找有关在英国学习和生活的有用建议和信息。

在澳大利亚的学习: 寻找有关澳大利亚学生签证、学费、膳宿和生活的信息。

Study Nation: 获得在美国、英国、加拿大、澳大利亚、新西兰和新加坡学习的具有深刻见解的信息。

Planning to Live and Study Abroad

Before you go to your first lecture or set up your student email, there are many things you need to do — both before you leave for school and once you’re there — to prepare you for life in your host country. Here’s how we make planning for your education abroad a little easier.

 

Things to Consider

What can you afford? How would you like to spend your free time? Do you love warm weather, or are you a fan of changing seasons?

A diverse world is at your fingertips, and if you’re still figuring out where you want to go, there are plenty of things to take into consideration:

Living Near Relatives…or Not

If you’re independent, love to try new things and seem to make friends everywhere you go, then living on your own will suit you just fine. On the other hand, if you need a familiar face and ties from home to keep you balanced, then consider living in a country or city where you have extended family or close friends. That extra support and guidance can be just what you need to embrace your new surroundings and do well in school.

Culture

It’s important that you feel comfortable in your new environment, so make sure you consider the culture you’ll live in when choosing a host country. Take your time, do your research and we’ll do our part to guide you in the right direction. Here are links that provide some resources that may help in your decision:

College Board
Study Nation

Today, more than ever before, students are leaving home to study in the most popular study abroad locations: Australia, Canada, the UK and the US. If you plan to study in one of these countries, explore the sites below to learn more about the culture and lifestyle of each:

Australia
Living in Australia
Australian Culture

Canada
Canadian Culture
Canadian Lifestyle

United Kingdom
UK Culture
Life in the UK

United States of America
US Culture
American Values

Weather

Weather can play a big role in how you feel about your stay, so do your homework. Choose a location to see what the local weather is like.

Weather in Australia
Weather in Canada
Weather in the UK
Weather in the US

Cost of Living

The cost of living for Australia, Canada, the UK and the US varies considerably. There are even significant differences between cities or regions within a country. That’s why it’s so important to research the area you’re planning to go to and find out the cost of everyday items such as food, rent, school materials and clothes. Then create a monthly budget to keep from overspending. Learn more about the cost of living in the following countries:

Cost of Living in Australia
Cost of Living in Canada
Cost of Living in the UK
Cost of Living in the US

Choosing a College or University

Deciding which college or university to attend is very exciting and, for some, a bit overwhelming. After all, where you go to get your education impacts your future profession, the connections you’ll make and what country and city you’ll call home for the next several years. You’ll get a lot of advice from family and friends. Listen to it all. Just remember, in the end you have to be happy with your choice. Here are suggestions on how to evaluate which school is best for you:

  • Make sure the institutions you’re considering offer the degree program you want to pursue.
  • See what you can find out about the faculty in your area of study.
  • Find out if the career you’ve chosen requires an undergraduate degree or if you need a graduate degree. If so, consider if you want to complete your graduate work at the same institution, city or country.
  • Do you thrive in a city atmosphere, small town or relish the slow pace of the country? Do you want to go to a small college where you’ll get more personalized attention? Or would you rather learn at a large university with lecture style classrooms?
  • The type of institution you attend can affect tuition fees, open doors to graduate school and give you a career advantage. The country you’re interested in will most likely include both private and public institutions. You will find that some countries also have universities that specialize in an area of study such as research, teaching or science. Take a look at all kinds to see which one offers you the education you want at a cost you can afford.
  • Check to see the number of students that attend the institution you’re considering. 
  • Take a look at the college or university’s student profile to see if it meets your needs in terms of the ratio of male and female students, cultural diversity, academic achievement level of accepted students, and other social and academic factors that may influence your decision. Check to see if this information is available on the school’s website. Here are other useful sites:

    College Board
    US News & World Report America’s Best Colleges
    The Complete University Guide
    Australia Education Network

If you're planning to get a postgraduate degree, here are some things you should consider:

  • The reputation of the school and degree program.
  • The faculty. Most likely, they will act as mentors to you.
  • Your GPA, GRE® scores or other test scores.

Here are sites to help you search for a school in the country where you want to study:

US News & World Report
Worldwide University Rankings & Guides
Australia School Search
Canada School Search
Undergraduate Programs in Canada
UK School Search
University Finder – UK
Study in the US
Peterson’s School Finder ­– US
US School Search

Housing

Living on campus gives you an opportunity to make friends more easily, get to class on time and experience school from a similar perspective as your peers. Being right in the center of things, you’re more likely to get involved with school activities. If you do decide that campus life is for you, most schools offer different types of housing options including co-ed and single-sex residence halls, so you can find one that fits your style.

Living off campus gives you more independence and flexibility. You’ll get a chance to experience what life is really like in your host country, outside school walls. Plus, you can often find rooms that are more spacious than the ones on campus. Remember to weigh all factors before making a final decision. Find out more about student housing options:

Accommodations in Australia
Student Accommodations in the UK
Peterson's School Finder – US
Study USA

You have so much to look forward to as you continue your education on the international stage. Keep this advice in mind as you research colleges and universities, searching for the destination that suits your individual requirements. If possible, visit the school to make sure you feel comfortable on the campus and in the surrounding area.

10 Things You Need to do Before You Leave

  • Decide how you’re going to pay for school: Paying for your education can be costly, but it doesn’t have to cause you financial hardship. There are many loans, scholarships, grants and fellowships available to help you get your education abroad. Get confirmation of your financial aid BEFORE you go away to make sure the money’s there when you need it.
  • Get your passport and visa: Make sure you get all your legal documents together as early as possible. Your passport is your ID card while you’re in your host country. And your student visa is your ticket to studying abroad. Bring two photocopies of your passport and other important documents. Keep them in separate places in case you lose one.
  • Take care of your health: Get a full medical check-up, vaccinations and have your prescriptions filled before you go. It’ll give you peace of mind, plus you may need to show medical clearance to get your student visa. Also, most countries require that you have international student health insurance. Here are two sites that offer student insurance. We don’t endorse these products; however, we do want to make you aware of these and others like them.

    International Student Insurance
    International Student

  • Create a budget: There are many daily expenses as well as a few unexpected costs you need to consider. Planning for both can eliminate those unwanted surprises on your bank statement.
  • Get an International Student Identity Card (ISIC): The International Student Identity Card offers student discounts all over the world on plane, train, bus and boat tickets, shopping, banking, entertainment, food and more.
  • Keep up with current events: Check your school’s website often. If possible, sign up for student updates. Watch the news every day and read about what’s going on in the country and city you’re going to live in. This will help you stay up-to-date as well as sharpen your English skills.
  • Leave information in case of emergency: Let your family and friends know where you’re staying and how to contact you and your school in case of an emergency.
  • Confirm your living arrangements: Make sure your room and board are confirmed before you leave home. Whether you’ve made plans to live on or off campus, request to have the confirmation sent to you in writing.
  • Notify your bank: Whether you plan on using your current bank or finding a local one in your host country, contact your bank and let them know where you’re going and how long you’ll be out of the country. If you are going to use your current bank, find out if you will incur any overseas fees for accessing your account.
  • Check your admissions requirements: Find out what tests and other requirements are needed for admission. If you’ve already taken college courses or if you’re a graduate student, check to see if your credits will be accepted at the new college or university.

Getting Settled in Your New Surroundings

Just the idea of studying abroad brings to mind images of hailing a cab in New York City, going with friends to a pub in London or surfing before noon in Sydney. As exciting as these things are, they’re only a small part of your experience in your new surroundings.

Before you say "au revoir," "adios," "alavidha" or "farewell," here are some interesting things you may want to know about where you’re going:

Academic life

Studying in your host country may be very different from what you’ve experienced. Every culture has its own style of teaching and learning. To make sure you do your best, visit the sites below for tips on how to succeed in your host country.

Australia Academic Life
Student Life — Canada
Academics in the UK
Academics in the US

Social life

Your social life is just as important to your international experience as your education. A good way to make friends is by introducing yourself to classmates in your dorm or residence hall. And go out and explore all that your city has to offer. Start learning about things you can do in the country you’re going to:

Social Life — Australia
Canadian Lifestyle
Life in the UK
Social Life — US

Homesickness

No matter how independent and sociable you are, at one time or another you’ll miss being at home. Here are a few tips to make sure those feelings don’t linger too long:

  • Join a club, sports team or cultural group
  • Spend time with friends. Talk to them about how you feel. If invited, spend the holidays or weekends with them and their families
  • Get involved. Try out for a play, become a volunteer, write for the school e-newsletter
  • Learn something new every day about the culture and country you’re in
  • Speak English all the time. It will help you embrace your new culture
  • Go to a party, play, sporting event, concert, movie or outdoor activity
  • If your feelings of loneliness don’t go away in a day or two, talk to your resident assistant, school counselor or international student advisor

Read more here: Reduce Homesickness Abroad

Setting up a bank account

One of the first things you should do when you arrive is set up a bank account. Your resident assistant or student advisor can help you find a bank close to campus. When deciding which bank to choose, consider what services you need. Some banks may charge a fee for services that are free at others. Shop around. And if you plan to wire money from your bank back home to your new bank, choose a bank that charges little or no fee for transfers.

No matter which bank you choose, try to limit the amount of cash you carry. It’s safer to use a bank card that allows you to withdraw money as you need it. Learn more about banking and other financial matters where you plan to study.

Student Banking in Australia
Student Banking in Canada
Student Banking in the UK
Student Banking in the US

Health care

Once you’re all settled in, ask around or go online to find a doctor and a dentist in your area that accepts your insurance. If you wait until you get sick to start your search, you may not be able to get an appointment or have trouble locating someone.

Most colleges and universities offer their own healthcare facilities. Check with your institution to see if it offers basic services or more extensive care.

Every country’s healthcare system has its own rules and regulations. To find out more about health care in the country where you’ll be studying, see the links below:

Student Health in Australia
Student Health in Canada
Student Health in the UK
Student Health in the US

 

Graduate and Business School

Graduate-level study is totally different than what you experienced at the undergraduate level. You will work closely with advisors or professors, who take on more of a mentor role. The course work is more difficult. And there’s more competition among students.

Some things to consider when choosing a graduate or business school

  • Apply to many programs and make sure you meet the grade and test score requirements. Admission is very competitive.
  • Research the institution and make sure it has a reputable program for your field of study.
  • Find out the quality and reputation of the faculty.
  • Ask to see how much interaction students have with faculty members. In most graduate and business schools, you’ll work closely with them.

Here are a few tips for preparing

  • Visit each of the campuses you’re interested in. It allows you to truly evaluate the culture and determine whether it’s the right fit for you.
  • Find out the admission requirements. One requirement will be taking an English-language proficiency test, such as the TOEFL test, to demonstrate that you’re able to read, write, speak and understand English at the university level.
  • If the institution you're applying to requires you to take a graduate admissions test, such as the GRE® revised General Test, contact them to learn about their admission deadlines.
  • If you need financial aid, there are many grants, loans and scholarships available. Do your research and apply early.

Surviving graduate or business school

Postgraduate students are expected to have better research skills and more in-depth and applied knowledge. In the beginning, your course work may feel overwhelming. Once you begin learning to balance your schoolwork with your other responsibilities, it will get easier. Don’t try to do everything at once. Maximize your time and energy by prioritizing your workload and completing assignments as needed.

For more on preparing, finding living arrangements, how to succeed in graduate or business school and other useful advice, visit GradSchools.com.

Here are other helpful links:

International Graduate
After Your Studies — Australia
Post Grad — UK
International Student — US Graduate
Study Abroad — Graduate

Online Resources

The following sites offer valuable tips, advice and resources for living and learning abroad. Try to take a look at all of them, even if they’re not for the country where you’re planning to study. You’ll be surprised at how suggestions within one site can apply to all students, no matter where they plan to attend school.

These links are provided as a resource, as described in the ETS Website Terms of Use.

U.S. News & World Report: Get the latest on the best colleges, universities and graduate schools in the world. Plus, take a look at featured colleges, ways to pay for school, tuition planner and other useful tools.

Study in Canada: Find out what it’s like living in Canada, how to get your student visa, learn about the many colleges, universities and graduate programs, and more.

Education UK: Dedicated to students planning to study in Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Learn about scholarships, accommodations, healthcare and more.

Study Abroad.com: Find information on international study abroad programs and study abroad scholarships for the UK, US, Canada, Singapore, Germany and more.

International Student: Learn about the culture, accommodations, transportation, safety, money and other topics that help you adjust to life in the UK, US and Australia.

Study USA: Get comprehensive information tailored for non-US students who are considering studying in the US.

UK Council for International Affairs: Find helpful advice and information on living and learning in the UK.

Studies in Australia: Find information on student visas, school fees, accommodations and life in Australia.

Study Nation: Get insightful information on studying in the US, UK, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Singapore.