获取签证

无论您打算去往哪里旅行,您都可能需要签证才能前往。获得签证的流程取决于不同的国家,但无论您去哪儿都需要记住一些事情。

 

申请学生签证

在申请学生签证时,您应该遵守七条简单规则。

1. 按时履行时间表

您可能需要在学生签证申请期间参见面对面的面试,或者需要在特定日期前发送信息。提前计划,以免您错过任何约会或截止日期。

2. 完成所有表格

通常情况下,学生签证被拒绝或延迟的原因是申请者没有完整填写表格中的所有必填部分。确保您阅读并遵守所有说明并给出您被要求提供的所有信息。

3. 诚实

确保您的学生签证申请的每个阶段都做到完全诚实。签证机构拥有全面的数据库,并且通常能够突出显示不准确的信息。

4. 评估您的健康

您可能需要在获发学生签证前进行健康体检,以证明您未患有肺结核等传染性疾病。您还可能需要接种疫苗,这取决于您打算留学的地点。

5. 规划您的财务状况

您将需要展示您拥有支付海外留学的学费和生活费的财力。制定详细的财务计划以及您打算以何种方式支付学费的计划。包括任何财务援助或您有资格获得的奖学金。从您想要留学国家的大使馆或领事办事处了解您将需要提供哪种类型的财务证明。

6. 掌握好英语

您在申请学生签证时还可能被要求参加面试。如果您的英语水平无法令面试官满意,那么您的申请就可能被拒绝。

7. 建立与家乡的联系

无论您打算留学何处,您都将需要证明自己与家乡的联系,如亲属或财产,并且您将在学成后返回自己的祖国。为证明您将在完成学业后返回祖国,您可能被要求证明您的海外学习将会如何助益于您在本国的求职。

以下是有关几个最热门的海外留学目的地之学生签证申请流程的具体信息。

申请赴澳大利亚签证

所有留学生都需要学生签证才能就读于澳大利亚学院或大学。然而,依据您所来自的国家以及您准备学习本科还是研究生课程,签证要求也会有所不同。无论您处于何种情况,您都需要参加英语水平考试并在申请签证前获得学院或大学的录取。

自 2014 年 11 月开始,TOEFL iBT® 成绩也可用于申请技术移民、工作后留学、永久居住及其他签证。如需了解参加TOEFL iBT 考试用于此等澳大利亚签证的更多信息,请点击此处

申请赴加拿大学生签证。

打算在加拿大学习的所有留学生都需要拥有学生签证。为申请学生签证,您需要参加如 TOEFL 考试等英语水平考试并且被加拿大学院或大学录取 - 在提交申请时,您还需提供接收函。

申请赴英国学生签证

如果您是欧盟国家公民,就可以无需签证前往英国留学。来自欧盟以外国家的留学生则需要于当地的英国领事馆或大使馆申请学生签证。

  • 您可以在英国留学生页面找到更多有关英国学习和生活的信息。
  • 您可以在英国内政部 网站上申请您的英国学生签证。

请确保查看使用 TOEFL 分数申请英国签证的重要更新:http://www.ets.org/toefl/important_update_toefl_uk.

申请赴美国学生签证

在您可以申请自己的美国学生签证之前,您应被获得认可的美国院校的学习计划所接受。提交申请后,您应在签证签发之前,前往距离您最近的美国大使馆或领事馆进行对面对的签证面试。您还将被要求提供证据,以证明您在财务上可以支撑自己在美国的学习费用,并且您有足够的理由于学成后返回祖国。

Obtaining a Visa

No matter where you’re planning to travel, chances are you’ll need a visa to get there. The process for getting a visa depends on the country, but there are some things you need to remember wherever you go.

 

Applying for a Student Visa

There are seven simple rules you should follow when applying for your student visa.

1. Keep on Schedule

You may need to attend a face-to-face interview during your student visa application, or be required to send off information by a certain date. Plan ahead so you don’t miss any appointments or deadlines.

2. Complete All Forms

Often student visa applications are rejected or delayed because applicants haven’t fully completed every required portion of their forms. Make sure you read and follow all instructions and give all the information you’re required to.

3. Be Honest

Make sure you are totally honest in every stage of your student visa application. Visa agencies have comprehensive databases and will often be able to highlight information that isn’t accurate.

4. Assess Your Health

You may be required to have a medical examination before being issued a student visa, to prove that you do not have any infectious diseases like tuberculosis. You may also be required to get vaccinations depending on where you intend to study.

5. Plan Your Finances

You’ll need to demonstrate you have the financial resources to pay for your tuition and living expenses while studying abroad. Make a detailed plan of your finances and how you intend to pay for your studies. Include any financial aid or scholarships you have qualified for. Find out from the embassy or consular office of the country where you want to study in what types of financial documentation you’ll need to provide.

6. Master Your English

You may also be required to attend an interview when you apply for your student visa. If your English skills don’t satisfy the officer interviewing you, your application may be rejected.

7. Establish Ties to Home

Wherever you’re planning to study, you will need to prove that you have ties to home, such as family or property, and that you will be returning to your native country after your studies are complete. To prove that you intend to return home after your studies have finished, you may be asked to prove how your education abroad will help you get a job in your native country.

Here is specific information about the student visa application process for some of the most popular study abroad destinations.

Applying for a Visa for Australia

All international students require a student visa to attend college or university in Australia. There are, however, different requirements depending on which country you’re coming from and if you’re studying at the graduate or undergraduate level. Whatever your circumstances, you’ll need to take an English proficiency test and be accepted by a college or university before you can apply for your visa.

As of November 2014, TOEFL iBT® scores can also be used to apply for skilled migration, post-work study, permanent residence, and other visas. Learn more about taking the TOEFL iBT Test for use with these Australian visas here.

Applying for a Student Visa for Canada

All international students intending to study in Canada are required to have a student visa. In order to apply for one, you need to take an English proficiency test such as the TOEFL test and be accepted by a Canadian college or university — you will need to provide the letter of acceptance with your application.

Applying for a Student Visa for the United Kingdom

If you are a citizen of the European Union, you can study in the UK without a student visa. Those arriving from outside the EU, however, will need to apply for student visas from their local British Consulate or Embassy.

Applying for a Student Visa for the United States

You’ll need to have been accepted for a study program at an accredited American institution before you can apply for your US student visa. Once you’ve applied, you’ll be required to travel to your nearest United States Embassy or Consulate for a face-to-face visa interview before it’s issued. You’ll also be asked to provide proof that you can financially support yourself while studying in America and have sufficient reason to return home after your studies are over.