其他 TOEFL® 考生成功旅程每月报道。

TOEFL® 名人堂成功故事:Jun Soo Ha

Nov 20, 2014

邂逅 Jun Soo Ha:美国富布特奖学金学者与获奖电影导演。如今他一直在世界各地旅行与拍摄电影,他认为参加 TOEFL® 考试开启了他的留学之旅、提升了英语水平并能够追寻他对电影摄制的热情。

备战海外学习
在申请研究生项目前,Jun 走访了美国的学校并拜访了多位教授。他认为英语交流技巧的基本要求是:“我主要是练习流利地说英语,这不仅对海外留学是必要的,同时也对备战 TOEFL 考试至关重要。”

取得硕士学位
Jun 在英语学习上的努力付出最终使得他成功通过 TOEFL 考试:他获得了富布特奖学金,帮助他实现了海外留学之旅。Jun 最终在美国加州艺术学院取得了电影与影像硕士学位。 

电影事业
Jun 最值得自豪的成就之一就是他精心制作历时将近 4 年的纪录片作品——“Coréen 2495”,这部影片也让 Jun 在第 10 届釜山国际电影节获得韩国纪录片大奖。 他认为导演必须尝试着与观众直接交流:“当导演不能在观众面前亲自说明他们自己的作品时,则他们就不能拍出世界级的好电影。”

给其他学生的建议
Jun 鼓励对海外留学感兴趣的学生专注于在听说技能上实现良好的流利性。Jun 硕士学位项目中的许多课程要求他对电影里的情感与复杂情景进行深入讨论:“能够流利地阐述与解释自己的作品是至关重要的。”

想知道来自 TOEFL® 优秀考生的更多建议吗?浏览过往奖学金得主的成功故事>

Monthly accounts of other TOEFL® test takers' journeys to success.

The Many Faces of TOEFL® Success Stories: Jun Soo Ha

Nov 20, 2014

Meet Jun Soo Ha: Fulbright scholar and award-winning film director. Today he spends his time traveling and shooting films around the world, but he credits the TOEFL® test as helping him to study abroad, improve his English skills and pursue his passion for filmmaking. 

Preparing to study abroad
Before applying to a graduate program, Jun visited schools in the United States and met with professors. He found English communication skills to be a basic requirement: “I mainly practiced to speak English fluently, which was necessary for studying abroad, while simultaneously preparing for the TOEFL test.”

Earning his master’s degree
Jun’s hard work studying English and taking the TOEFL test paid off: He was awarded a Fulbright scholarship to assist him in his study abroad journey. Jun eventually earned his Master’s in Film and Video at the California Institute of the Arts in the United States. 

Career in film
One of Jun’s proudest accomplishments came after nearly 4 years of hard work on his documentary, “Coréen2495,” when he was awarded the grand prize for a Korean documentary in the 10th Busan International Film Festival. He says that directors must try to communicate directly with viewers: “When directors cannot explain their own work before the audience in person, they cannot perform well globally.”

Advice to other students
Jun encourages students who are interested in studying abroad to focus on their speaking and listening skills to achieve fluency. Many of the courses in his Master’s Program required him to discuss in-depth dialogues involving emotions and complex situations from films: “It is vital to have the capability to speak and explain one’s own work fluently.”

Interested in hearing more advice from top TOEFL® test-takers? See past scholarship winners and success stories >