课堂内外的每月建议。

帮助你获得面试的五个写简历的建议

Aug 31, 2015

准备好学以致用并求职了? 一份强大的简历能帮助你从激烈的竞争中脱颖而出,提升你获得面试的机会。这里有你需要知道的五个写简历的建议。

  1. 有选择性地填写工作经验。 把你的简历看做你工作经验的高度概括,把自己推销给未来的雇主。不需要包含每一条工作经验。重点放在跟你要应聘的工作直接相关的最近的工作经验。
  2. 尽量不要超过一页。要牢记人事部经理可能要看很多份简历,因而要让简历尽可能简洁。如果你有大量相关的工作经验和教育背景,两页也可以接受。但是,尽量控制在一页之内会有助于你抓住重点,保持简洁。
  3. 保持格式简洁。 采用一种容易阅读的基本字体——既是为人事部经理准备的,也是为申请跟踪系统准备的。Arial、Calibri、Helvetica、Times New Roman 等字体是不错的选择。采用 10 号到 12 号之间的字号,页面上留一些空格。不同章节的标题可以采用不同的字体,但要前后一致。
  4. 避免出现语法错误和拼写错误。 在未来的雇主眼里,一个有排印错误或语法错误的简历不会好看。毕竟,注重细节也可能是他们看重的技能之一。
  5. 不要忘记填写你的联系方式! 如果人事部经理想给你安排面试,要让他们能轻松联系到你。务必填写你所有联系方式,包括全名、居住地街道地址、城市、国家、电话号码和邮件地址。

访问我们的 LinkedIn page >寻找专家团体,学习资源和其他 TOEFL® 考生。

Monthly advice for in and out of the classroom.

Five Resume Writing Tips to Help Get You an Interview

Aug 31, 2015

Getting ready to put your education to work and apply for a job? A strong resume will help you stand out from the competition and increase your chances of getting an interview. Read on for five resume writing tips you need to know. 

  1. Be selective in the experience you include. Think of your resume as a high-level summary of your career experience designed to market yourself to a prospective employer. It’s not necessary to include every bit of work experience. Focus on recent job experience that is directly related to the career you are pursuing. 
  2. Try to not exceed one page. You want your resume to be as concise as possible, keeping in mind that the hiring manager will likely have many resumes to review. If you have a significant amount of relevant work experience and education, two pages is acceptable. But trying to keep it to a single page will help you focus and be concise. 
  3. Keep the formatting simple. Use a basic font that is easy to read—both for hiring managers and applicant tracking systems. Fonts such as Arial, Calibri, Helvetica and Times New Roman are good options. Use a font size between 10 and 12, and leave some white space on the page. You can use a different font or typeface for section headings, but be consistent.
  4. Avoid grammar and spelling mistakes. Submitting a resume with typos and grammatical errors is not going to look good to prospective employers. After all, attention to detail is likely one of the skills they are going to be looking for. 
  5. Don’t forget your contact information! If the hiring manager wants to set up an interview, you want to make it easy for them to get in touch with you. Be sure to include all of your contact information, including full name, street address, city and state, telephone number and email. 

Find learning resources and network with professionals and other TOEFL® test takers on our LinkedIn page