其他 TOEFL® 考生成功旅程每月报道。

成为世界公民:TOEFL® 奖学金获得者的故事

Feb 29, 2016

Hyo Nam Lee, 是一名来自韩国昌原大学的 TOEFL® 奖学金获得者,政策制定是他重要的事业目标。。他认为学习英语是迈向未来必走的一步。Lee 谈到,“我相信,学习英语对学生们来说至关重要,因为英语是世界上使用最广泛的语言。” 他同时指出,“在生活中,我们不可避免地会遇到许多外国人,语言不应成为阻碍沟通的障碍。” Lee 希望有一天能够走访那些拥有先进公共政策的国家,例如芬兰。他相信他的英语技能帮助他在这些海外旅行中进行有效沟通,帮助他“像世界公民一样生活。” 

虽然他的英语学习之路不时面临挑战,但他提高的技能已证明是必不可少的。Lee 现在能够读懂原版论文,无需依靠韩文翻译。阅读英文文本让他对正在研究的课题有了更深的理解。

对即将参加TOEFL®考试的 同学,Lee 的建议是“在日常生活中,尽可能多地使用英语进行会话与写作。” 他建议通过阅读英文报纸或观看英语新闻节目来帮助提高对语言的熟悉度。

世界正不断全球化。随着英语技能的提高,Lee 觉得自己已经做好准备,走向世界!

一起做好准备,走向世界吧! 了解其他海外学生的励志故事,请访问 TOEFL® 的官方 Instagram

Monthly accounts of other TOEFL® test takers' journeys to success.

Becoming a Global Citizen: One TOEFL® Scholarship Winner's Journey

Feb 29, 2016

Hyo Nam Lee, a TOEFL® Scholarship Winner from Changwon National University in South Korea, has set his sights on an important career: policy making. He feels that learning English is a required step toward his future. Lee said, “I believe it is important for students to learn English because English is spoken the most in the world.” He also pointed out that “In life, we inevitably meet many foreigners and language should not obstruct communication.” Someday, Lee hopes to visit foreign countries with more advanced public policies, such as Finland. His English skills, he believes, will help him effectively communicate during these trips abroad and help him “live as a Global citizen.”   

While his path to learning English has been challenging at times, his improved skills have already proven essential. Lee is now able to read papers by their original authors, instead of relying on Korean translations. Reading the English texts has given him a deeper understanding about the subjects he is studying. 

Lee’s advice to soon-to-be TOEFL® test takers is to “speak and write English as much as you can in daily life.” He recommends reading an English newspaper or following an English news program to help become more familiar with the language.

The world continues to become more globally focused. And with his improved English skills, Lee feels ready to take it on! 

Get ready to take on the world, too! For inspiration from other study abroad students, visit the official TOEFL® page on Instagram.