每月语法指南帮助您掌握英语技能。

大学入学短文写作的4项技巧

Oct 27, 2015

您的大学入学短文是您申请大学的重要组成部分。作为英语学习者,您还可以借此展示卓越的沟通技能。以下是优秀短文写作的一些技巧。这些技巧可以帮助您进入梦想的留学项目!

  1. 以您自己的语气写作: 您的大学入学短文是展现您真实情况的好机会。您的学习动力是什么? 您的兴趣爱好? 您要讲述的独特故事? 尝试以您陈述的语气书写,尽可能真实。
  2. 使用主动动词: 尽量使用主动语态,以使您的短文更清晰和吸引人。例如,使用“The scholarship was awarded to me”,而不使用“I won the scholarship.”。以下是使用主动语态对比被动语态的示例
  3. 仔细检查您的语法: 语气错误可能是干扰读者的主要因素,从而影响您短文中的主要内容。注意标点、动词时态和其他语法要素。这里的语法指南可以帮助您提高英语技能。
  4. 使用恰当的词汇: 学习多音节学术词汇有助于在大学入学考试和其他考试中取得高分。但是,在您的短文中使用大量此类词汇并不一定吸引招生负责人。事实上,这些词汇通常降低对话感和真实性,从而可能影响您的短文效果。

考虑到美国留学吗? 以下撰写美国大学入学短文时,您需回答的三个问题。

A monthly grammatical guide to help you build your English skills.

4 Tips for Writing Your College Admissions Essay

Oct 27, 2015

Your college admissions essay is an important part of your college application. As an English language learner, it’s also a great opportunity to demonstrate your excellent communication skills. Here are some tips for writing a strong essay that will help you get into the study abroad program you dream about!

  1. Write in your own voice: Your college admissions essay is an opportunity to show the real you. What motivates you? What are your interests? What unique stories do you have to tell? Try to write as you speak, and always be as authentic as possible.
  2. Use active verbs: To make your writing more clear and engaging, try to use active voice whenever possible. For example, instead of saying “The scholarship was awarded to me,” say “I won the scholarship.” Here are some tips for using active versus passive voice.
  3. Double-check your grammar: Grammatical mistakes can be a major distraction for readers, and take away from your otherwise great ideas. Pay close attention to punctuation, verb tense and other elements of grammar. Here is an excellent grammar guide to help you sharpen your skills.
  4. Use appropriate vocabulary: Learning multisyllabic academic words will help you on college entrance exams and other tests. But using lots of these words in your essay will not necessarily impress admissions officers. In fact, it can often detract from your essay by making it sound less conversational and genuine.

Thinking about a study abroad program in the United States? These are three questions you should answer when writing your admissions essay for a U.S. college.